Saying thank you

Karina smilingTwo days ago I couldn’t resist having a coffee at 6pm because I have this thing called an aeropress and it makes the best coffee I’ve ever had and then I couldn’t sleep and then I sat up and wrote a post about Amanda Palmer and Philip Seymour Hoffman and how it feels to ask for help. It was also a post where I got vulnerable. I told you a very small portion of my past. I talked about begging on the street, and how that felt. And then I went on to ask for your support to get me to Portugal so that I can read my work at a conference there in May.

And now I am crying.

I am crying because within 24 hours of writing that post, and Amanda Palmer retweeting it, I had hit my target. And yesterday I exceeded it.

I am crying because now I have enough for travel insurance and if the pledges keep coming in the funds will cover transfers and meals as well, and pozible have featured my project, so that will probably happen.

I am crying because sixteen years ago I was a twenty something on a street corner asking for money so that I could disappear just a little bit more, and this year I will be forty, and I’m doing way more than surviving: I’m living the biggest, bravest, most amazing life I can.

So. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

9 responses to “Saying thank you

  1. Beautiful Karina. Nearly made me cry too.
    And very exciting about Portugal!!

  2. Lovely one, you are one of the bravest people I know. I am so honored to have you in my life!

  3. You are amazing! Thank you for sharing with us, congrats on your achievements thus far 😃

  4. You are setting a path for the rest of us (and our kids). An inspiration!

  5. Pingback: Writing poems with other people’s words | phd with kids

Leave a Reply

